Governing Structure PDF Print E-mail

The AMCOW Governing Council
The Council serves as the principal inter-governmental body on water issues and is composed of all 55 African Ministers responsible for water affairs in the region. The Council has the following functions:

  • To keep the state of Africa’s water resources under review and promote desirable actions of common interest to Africa
  • To facilitate sub-regional, regional and international cooperation through the coordination of issues relating to water policies and actions among African countries
  • To support international cooperation on water-related issues through development of common positions on matters of global concerns as well as cooperation in implementation of relevant conventions and international agreements
  • To encourage mechanisms that promote best practices in water policy reforms, integrated water resources management, food security, water supply and sanitation, and also assist in delivery of national, sub-regional and regional programmes
  • To provide a forum for dialogue with UN agencies and other partners on water programmes
  • To promote, in the region, studies regarding climate change, develop policies and strategies for the management of water resources during drought and floods, and develop policies and strategies for averting water crises in Africa
  • To keep under review and constantly seek to strengthen the financing of the water sector in Africa
  • To promote sub-regional and basin-wide cooperation.

The AMCOW Executive Committee
The Executive Committee comprises the President of the Council and 15 other members—three members elected from each of the five sub-regions of Africa on a rotational basis. The members are selected by the sub-regions.
The Committee performs the following functions:

  • To deliberate on the decisions and recommendations of the Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) and forward required decisions and issues for the deliberations of the Governing Council
  • To ensure that decisions of the Council are implemented
  • To endorse the programs and budgets for the approval of the Council
  • To decide on arrangements for the sessions of the Council, and
  • To decide on strategic directions of the constituent organs of AMCOW.


AMCOW Governance Structure: 2018 – 2020

AMCOW President: H.E. Norbert Emmanuel Ondo Mba, Minister of Water, Energy and Mines, Republic of Gabon

AMCOW Vice President (Central Africa): S.E. Mr. Adoración SALAS CHONCO, Ministre des Peches et de l'Environement , Guinee Equatoriale

AMCOW Vice President (East Africa): Hon. Sam Cheptoris, Minister for Water and Environment, Uganda

AMCOW Vice President (North Africa): Hon. Dr. Mohamed Abdel Atty, Minister for Water Resources and Irrigation, Egypt

AMCOW Vice President (Southern Africa): Hon. Alpheus G. Naruseb (MP), Minister for Agriculture, Water and Forestry, Namibia

AMCOW Vice President (West Africa): Hon. Cecilia Abena Dapaah, Ministry of Sanitation and Water Resources, Ghana

Click on GOVERNANCE STRUCTURE for more details...

Technical Advisory Committee (TAC)
The TAC provides technical support to the Executive Committee and the Governing Council for:

  • Formulation of policies and strategies for the consideration of the Executive Committee
  • Coordination with other institutions and partners, and
  • Operational follow-up of issues and decisions of the Council.

The Committee comprises 25 technical experts, 5 from each of the five sub-regions of Africa, on a rotational basis. The sub-regions decide which countries and experts are to be members of the Committee.

The AMCOW Secretariat

The Secretariat is headed by an Executive Secretary and is responsible for:

  • day-to-day running of the Secretariat
  • taking follow up actions on the decisions of the Council
  • preparing programs and budgets for consideration by the Executive Committee,
  • providing Secretariat services for the sessions and meetings of the organs of the Council, and
  • reporting to the Executive Committee.
Click on ORGANOGRAM for more details...

Contact Us

11 T. Y. Danjuma Street, Asokoro District, FCT-Abuja, Nigeria
Telephone: +234 9096074166 or

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Follow Us On ::