11 TY Danjuma Street, Abuja Nigeria

+234 9096074166

The Governing Council

The Council serves as the principal inter-governmental body on water issues and is composed of all 55 African Ministers responsible for water affairs in the region. The Council has the following functions:

  • To keep the state of Africa’s water resources under review and promote desirable actions of common interest to Africa
  • To facilitate sub-regional, regional and international cooperation through the coordination of issues relating to water policies and actions among African countries
  • To support international cooperation on water-related issues through development of common positions on matters of global concerns as well as cooperation in implementation of relevant conventions and international agreements
  • To encourage mechanisms that promote best practices in water policy reforms, integrated water resources management, food security, water supply and sanitation, and also assist in delivery of national, sub-regional and regional programmes
  • To provide a forum for dialogue with UN agencies and other partners on water programmes
  • To promote, in the region, studies regarding climate change, develop policies and strategies for the management of water resources during drought and floods, and develop policies and strategies for averting water crises in Africa
  • To keep under review and constantly seek to strengthen the financing of the water sector in Africa
  • To promote sub-regional and basin-wide cooperation.

The Executive Committee

The Executive Committee comprises the President of the Council and 15 other members—three members elected from each of the five sub-regions of Africa on a rotational basis. The members are selected by the sub-regions.
The Committee performs the following functions:

  • To deliberate on the decisions and recommendations of the Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) and forward required decisions and issues for the deliberations of the Governing Council
  • To ensure that decisions of the Council are implemented
  • To endorse the programs and budgets for the approval of the Council
  • To decide on arrangements for the sessions of the Council, and
  • To decide on strategic directions of the constituent organs of AMCOW.

The Governance Structure

  • President:Hon. Carl Hermann Gustav Schlettwein, AMCOW President, Minister for Agriculture, Water and Land Reform Republic of Namibia
  • Vice President (Central Africa): Hon. Gaston Eloundou Essomba, Minister for Water and Energy, Cameroon
  • Vice President (Eastern Africa): Hon. Seleshi Bekele, Minister for Water, Irrigation and Energy, Ethiopia
  • Vice President (North Africa): Hon. Naha Mint Mouknass, Minister for Hydraulics and Sanitation,Mauritania
  • Vice President (Southern Africa): Hon. João Osvaldo Machatine,Minister for Ministry of Public Works, Housing and Water Resources, Mozambique
  • Vice President (West Africa): Hon. Engineer Suleiman Hussein Adamu, Minister for Water Resources, Nigeria